Spinach Mushroom Toast with Goat Cheese

This dish is delicious, simple, and great for people on a budget.

When I moved to NYC six months ago (Six months ago? What?) I knew that I would have to make cuts to my budget when it comes to food, and it is important to buy as many fresh veggies as possible. Since moving here, I have cut down on my meat consumption significantly because of the cost. Going semi-vegetarian was never hard for me, but it is not a lifestyle that I would force on anyone. My body probably performs its best on a completely vegan diet, but I can’t really imagine a life without cheese. While I never cooked that much meat in general, I do enjoy ordering fish or seafood when I am out. We all have different priorities and goals.

During every grocery trip, mushrooms, a good, hearty bread and spinach are always on my list. You can make something similar with your favorite veggies, arugula and goat cheese are always winners, with some freshly cracked black pepper.

Ingredients

1 slice country unbleached whole wheat bread, usually an artisanal variety (I love the unevenness of the slices and supporting local bakeries, which is easy to do when you are shopping in a local grocery store in Brooklyn, but use whatever you can find)

1/2 cup baby spinach leaves, or whatever green you prefer

1/2 cup sauteed mushrooms

1 generous tablespoon soft goat cheese

Freshly cracked black pepper, if desired

Directions

Toast bread if desired. Spread with cheese and top with spinach and mushrooms. Top with freshly cracked black pepper if desired.

Leave a Reply

