Review – Kula Yoga Project – Williamsburg

I have been working as a Brooklyn Kuli at the Kula Yoga Project for almost three and a half months now. I was told to get involved because one of my old yoga teachers from Dhyana Yoga in Philadelphia raved about the place. I was not disappointed. I got a great welcome to the studio from Nikki, one of the co-owners of the studio, and I have been hooked ever since. The amount they make me aware of my body and how much stress I put on it is truly amazing. Since I have been going to the studio, I have realized how much unnecessary work I make my body do, and how I need to move through life with more ease. Often, I am my own worst critic, and there has been nothing said to me that compares to what I have told myself. I have only sampled the Kula Basics and Kula Flow classes, but I really want to check out Honey Flow when I am stronger and more aware of the muscles I am utilizing, as well as Release the Beast, where you are given a set of your own bodywork tools. I have tried classes from Benn, Ariel and Nikki so far, and I am so impressed by how much they know. Every class I take gives me more knowledge about the human body, and what muscles I am using. I am being more mindful about what I put into my body as well, and keeping my fridge stocked with lovely produce. They have locations in Williamsburg and Tribeca, so be sure to check them out if you practice in NYC or BK. Considered one of the toughest studios in the city doesn’t hurt either.

I have always loved running, and I am trying to get back into the groove of things by clocking more miles. Often, exercise is a activity that I always put to the wayside, rationalizing that there are jobs to apply for and grants to look at, and fellowships to consider. After three months, I am in a puddle on my new bedroom floor, feeling more alone than I ever have felt and sobbing for days on end. Last week was one of these weeks. As much as I have, and as thankful as I am, there are still holes in my life. I know that problems will never end, and that my attitude is what matters most. I know that eventually, I will be where I want to be, and that I don’t need to compare myself to anyone else. While it is lovely to have high standards, I am too critical of myself, and forgetting to breathe will get me to that puddle on the floor, and the mean version of myself to come out, asking myself why I am not where I need to be. I need to get rid of the thought that I have to be anywhere. This studio is helping me in numerous ways, and when it all comes into place and clicks, I know that at the end of the day, I need to put myself first if I am going to be of any use to anyone.

Here’s to being better,

RE

 

