Buffalo Chicken Quinoa with Blue Cheese Crumbles and Scallions

If you have not noticed already, I don’t post calorie counts, and most of my recipes involve whole foods with limited processing. I do this because I don’t think that I am going to spend much of my life calorie counting, and it did not help me that much when I was calorie counting through MyFitnessPal. I love that it is such a useful tool for some people, but there is a major design flaw, and that is that since it only focuses on numbers, it ignores all the good stuff. For instance, you can eat really well and still be under your calorie count or you can eat something or nothing all day and be under your calorie count. To me, it is not really focusing on a well rounded experience. I know that gluten is a trigger for me, so I steer clear when I can, but since I am not completely intolerant, I indulge once in a while. There are foods that I would definitely suffer for. The mac and cheese with Silk city cheese sauce is one of them. Mac and cheese and all its comforting loveliness is one of my favorite meals. This dish is a buffalo style kind of mac and cheese but it is a quinoa and cheese instead, so it is still incredibly delicious but also keeps you fuller longer, since it is protein heavy. I was inspired by one of the recipes on my Pinterest Board, that led me to this recipe. This is cheesier than what i was craving, since a lot of cheese also makes my stomach pretty unhappy, so I did a very basic version. Feel free to add more cheese if you want it cheesier and follow the Iowa Girl Eats recipe.

Ingredients

Serves 2

1 1/2 cups cooked quinoa

1 cup roasted chicken, or rotisserie chicken 

1/4 cup reduced fat blue cheese crumbles or regular blue cheese, crumbled

1/2 cup plain 0% greek yogurt

1/3 cup Frank’s Buffalo sauce, depending on your taste

1 cup steamed broccoli

Freshly cracked black pepper, to taste

2 tablespoons chopped scallions

Directions

Mix cooked quinoa and steamed broccoli together. Combine the greek yogurt and buffalo sauce in a small pan on low heat. Pour heated sauce over cooked quinoa and steamed broccoli and mix well. Top with freshly cracked black pepper and blue cheese, top with more cheese to taste and scallions for garnish and flavor.

xx

R

Leave a Reply

