Greek Yogurt Egg Salad with Mustard and Dill

Be good to yourself. If you don’t take care of your body, where will you live? Kobi Yamada

This week has been a blur (when hasn’t my life been a blur lately?) but a pleasant blur. The weekend was fun and pretty packed. I watched Pitch Perfect with my best friend and we had some awesome cheeses (a pretty smooth mushroomy brie, the world’s oldest cheddar, and a strong blue cheese) from Di Bruno Bros, fresh summer fruits (gorgeous kiwi, ripe mango , and some awesome Cinnamon Olive Oil Chocolate Torte. It was a much needed break from the week with refreshing wine and laughs. Her beautiful cats always make me smile and so does she.

20130604-113755.jpg

I went to Farmacia again on Saturday, for brunch this time, which is by far their better meal. so if you are in Olde City and want to have a great brunch, they have it. I had the crabmeat omelet with spinach, mushrooms, and tomatoes, and a side of aged cheddar grits with some hearty multigrain bread. The Farmacia brunch deal is pretty spectacular because there is half off drinks for the whole brunch menu, so it is a great time to get a five dollar mimosa, or in my case a Bloody Mary. Guys, I cannot stress to you how delicious this Bloody Mary was. It is not one of those drinks I order often so it was even more of a unexpected delight. I love savory drinks, and their signature Bloody Mary was the perfect blend of savory with spices and acidity. Sorry I didn’t take a photo before I gulped half of it down! I could not control myself, it was that good.

20130604-113822.jpg

This egg salad recipe is fabulous. I made in in 5 minutes after a long day of yoga classes and feeling sore. I start strength training this week so I am upping my protein. This has the perfect tang from the Greek yogurt and the salty, fresh taste from the fresh dill herbs, and the kick from the mustard. Perfectly easy to make on a Sunday to make lunch for the week, easy to take to work or to the park, and no heating! Perfect for summer weather. How is it June?!

Ingredients

Serves 2

4 hardboiled eggs

4 tablespoons plain Greek yogurt

2 teaspoons or more, to taste of horseradish mustard, or mustard of your choice (Dijon would be oh so nice)

Freshly ground pepper, to taste

1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar

Pink himalyan salt, about 1 teaspoon

3 or 4 sprigs of dill. chopped

Directions

Chop hardboiled eggs finely or roughly, depending on how you like your egg salad. Top with yogurt and ACV. Add mustard and mix well. Top with spices and mix well. Spread on crackers or sprouted bread like I have featured here or great with romaine leaves.

xx

R

 

 

Leave a Reply

