VBarre Review at Philadelphia Sports Club

Yesterday was a hot, but nice day in Philadelphia. A perfect day to try a new fitness class.

I grabbed some free class passes from lulu lemon (perks of working at a yoga studio next door, I can always sample a fitness class if I want to because there are so many studios trying to lure clients in with their first class free). I went with a couple friends who were also love trying new fitness classes, and I heard great things about barre. I have also never been inside a Philadelphia Sports Club before and I was pleased with their fitness facilities, pool, and group fitness studio.

Vbarre combines micromovement exercises to target forgotten muscles, and I am feeling deliciously sore today. Some yoga will definitely help with that though and ease any pain later. With an air inflated ball, a polished sliding board, resistance band and 2 pound weights, we targeted some arm muscles like the triceps and the biceps, the inner and outer thigh, did some stretching, curtsies, arabesques, and plie squats. It was more like ballet boot camp though, and I am not sure if I could do this class on a regular basis. I am such a fan of yoga because I don’t look at a clock while I am there. In fact, it is usually the fastest part of my day. I like workouts like stimulate the mind and the body, since they are so intrinsically connected. I don’t have a lot of time to work out, and  anything that is a workout and therapy is definitely worth your time in my book. I loved the friendly, eager staff and the instructor was enthusiastic, motivating, and knowledgable.

What should you bring? Socks, leggings or capris that are sweat proof (because you will be dripping), and a breathable top, and good support if you’re a girl. 

Final verdict: Loved the experience and I could do it once in a while but as a lifestyle, definitely not for me. Not a barre convert, but maybe that is not fair considering I only went to one class. Since it was Vbarre at a gym and not a studio, the atmosphere is different here as well.

I love working with people who are passionate about their careers, and I am quickly realizing that is what it takes to live a long and happy life. You need to love what you do everyday. This instructor definitely knew how to keep people going through a hard class, and it truly is mind over matter. It took me learning this the hard way, but I can understand why people tell you to leave a job if it doesn’t fulfill you, to not waste time when you know something isn’t right for you, and to actually find happiness in your livelihood because it is what you will be doing for most of your hours awake. I am not perfect but I am making progress, and it is always progress not perfection that we should be working towards.

Want to try your own free barre class? Check out your local fitness gear stores to see if there are any promotional deals.

Leave a Reply

