Beet Chips with Coconut Oil

Trader Joe’s sells coconut oil in a can spray form. Needless to say it is now my go to spray item when it comes to cooking with oil. These beet chips are incredible. I ate two whole beets mindlessly even though it would be possible to eat more than that. These are incredibly easy with a mandolin slicer or a grater with a slicing attachment, which is what I have. It is no fancy thing, just a simple slicer I saw on sale at a Ross a couple years back. This is one of those tools that really give you value in your kitchen and since they are so inexpensive, I recommend picking up one that you will use through moves, through your twenties, through being a better cook. Even though I have only steadily been cooking for a couple months for myself, I have always had a deep love for all things edible. These were made on Sunday, my go to cooking day because usually time stops for me on a Sunday. I get maybe one day a week to sleep in and I usually choose Saturdays. This weekend is a different story though since I am upping up my yoga sessions and running for the 5k I have in June. I am not worried about the distance but it would be nice to run steadily. Running outside is a different matter and it takes some time for my knees to get used to concrete impact. I have a good friend’s early birthday on Friday so I will be spending some time at Franklin Mortgage and some other fabulous places in Philly, and the planner is filled to the brim with tasks to accomplish. I will be happy to breathe after these couple weeks are done and over with, which will be here faster than I know it. Here is the fabulous, easy recipe for you guys!

Ingredients

2 whole beets, cleaned well, dirt scraped off and the greens cut (save them for a smoothie or a juice!)

Coconut oil for spraying

Freshly cracked black pepper

Himalayan pink salt, to taste

Parchment paper

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Slice beets with a mandolin slicer or thin slicer for thin slicers (these cook the best and are the most crispy). Lay the thinly sliced beets in a layer on parchment paper in a baking pan or cookie sheet. Lightly spray the beet chips with coconut oil or if you don’t have a spray lightly paint them with coconut oil. Top with pepper and salt and bake for 15 minutes or less depending on your oven. Keep an eye on these because they can burn easily!

x

R

20130514-124624.jpg

Leave a Reply

