Review of MyFitnessPal

Have you guys heard of immersion or stunt journalism? In many ways, this blog is a form of that, since I am trying different fitness activities and different classes in order to educate others about different eating and fitness habits. This has quickly become very important to me, and the changes I have noticed in my body have been so rewarding. There isn’t much that jiggles on my body anymore. The level of confidence that I have gained from my time in the yoga studio or on the treadmill have been the most rewarding time in the last seven months. I don’t feel like myself when I don’t do something physical everyday. I have learned to listen to my body, and how to fuel effectively to get the most out of my workouts. I have discovered new foods, and met new people who have taught me so much about taking care of yourself. The whole your body is a temple mentality is very important to me, and one that I try to embody. Check out one of my best friends, who is such a creative and beautiful soul, who just embarked on her own fitness journey here!

I have been using MyFitnessPal for a long time now, because I wanted to see how it charted how my body changed throughout the months I have dedicated to eating cleanly and mindfully. I can confidently tell you that this app is flexible, worth it, and I can easily see why it is a cult favorite. The calorie counts depend on how much you want to lose, but unlike many fitness programs that are very struct, MyFitnessPal understands that you have days that you want to indulge. Writing down what you eat automatically makes you want to eat better, and for me, my phone is the most accessible piece of technology to track this. You can manually enter foods and they will find the calorie count for you online, which is a great option to have when you are eating out and want to see what the healthier options are in restaurants. They have every main restaurant chain’s foods and it is easy to enter your intake for the day. It never takes me more then three minutes. When you figure out how to make this a habit and you know what you are consuming, you know what has a certain amount of fat and what healthier options are. I don’t think this app is for everyone, but for my busy lifestyle and for my conscious decision to put better foods in my body, this was the perfect fit!

The other thing I love about this app is that it calculates the calories of different recipes, which is great when you cook much of your food at home! The calorie counts for different workouts are also available and the interface is user friendly. You can join with friends and keep each other accountable or you can make it a solo journey! Everyone is different when it comes to losing weight, gaining muscle, and living a better lifestyle!

Check out their site and how it works here!

Do you guys use MFP? What do you think! Feel free to friend me!

20130209-004539.jpg

One Comment to “Review of MyFitnessPal”

  1. Love this app! Definitely keeps me accountable!

Leave a Reply

