Review of Vinyasa Yoga

The 21 days of yoga challenge has been awesome so far! I started my first studio class on Thursday at Dhyana Yoga in Center City, Philadelphia. I had the most amazing experience. I dragged one of my best friends along with me to try their January special of your first class free, and it was a great decision. I signed up for the All Levels Vinyasa class with Bruno. I am not new to yoga but I never usually do studio classes because I was never in one place for long enough. Now that I have a job here, it is much easier to work my schedule around my set full time job schedule. The instructor, Bruno, is a really nice guy and we hit it off from the first class. My experience of doing the Downward Dog with every other student in the class in a silent but combined effort was nothing short of incredible. It is probably the only fitness class I have ever taken where the lack of a clock did not bother me in the slightest. I realized that I needed more of this in my life and I was going to work it out that it won’t be too expensive. One of the main reasons that I don’t work out in a formal setting is because I have a gym at home, set with a treadmill and a fitness ball and all the resistance bands you could imagine. While I have been doing yoga at home and following along with videos, it is harder, at least for me, to correct myself if I am putting too much stress on one knee or stretching the wrong way. Yoga can injure you if not done correctly, like any other fitness activity.

 

Having an instructor that has studied the art of yoga for years makes me feel better that I am not putting any added stressors on my body. The studio is a quaint place, with koi fished delicately painted on the worn wooden floors and a dimly lit studio with every sort of strap and brick you can imagine for different poses. I was proud that I felt a delightful kind of sore the next day, and there were so many muscles that I worked that I usually do not get around to. I signed up to work there immediately and I had training two days later. It was refreshing to see so many men in the classes. During my training session to register people for classes and workshops at the studio, I met some really cool girls who are other twenty somethings. It was great to compare stories and hear advice from people who have done it before and how their lives have shaped their practice.

Here are some life lessons I have learned from yoga:

1. You’re the only person who is standing in your way

2. Be patient with yourself and never be too harsh.

3. Be grateful your body is capable of so many great things.

4. Change hurts, but it is constant.

5. Nothing brings me a bigger smile than a hip opener. 

6. If you really love something, it’s not work.

I am sure it will teach me other things and great lessons will be coming my way. So as an early birthday gift to myself I found some great groupon deals. Here is what I bought myself and I cannot wait to start using it!

Tags: ,

One Comment to “Review of Vinyasa Yoga”

  1. Hello! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout
    out and tell you I truly enjoy reading your articles.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums
    that deal with the same topics? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

