Chia Dark Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

This is an adaptation of a recipe I used over the holidays, except to make it much more healthy I used applesauce instead of butter. I kept the sugars because I liked the flavor but you can use stevia instead of real sugar. I should be doing that too but I am making an exception because I wanted some holiday sweetness. Also, just in case you did not know, I am all about the whole sweet thing. Desserts rock and I love finding new recipes that keep the flavor. But in general, I am a dessert before dinner type of girl. Hope you guys like this chia dark chocolate chip cookie recipe!

Ingredients

1/4 cup chia seeds

3/4 light brown sugar

3/4 baking stevia

1 cup dark chocolate chips

1 cup wheat flour

2 eggs, or flaxseed oil replacement (google this trick, if you want to reduce calories on baking dishes)

1 cup applesauce

1 tsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

Directions

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees, Mix applesauce with the sugars. Then add chia seeds. Add flour and oatmeal, mix until well incorporated. Add cinnamon and dark chocolate chips. Add baking soda. When well mixed, dop dollops of the dough onto a greased baking sheet. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes, until golden brown. Makes three dozen small cookies or 20 medium sized cookies. If you have trouble mixing everything well add a couple drops of water or almond milk.

Leave a Reply

